Jonathan Ong, Violin  |  Dorothy Ro, Violin  | 

Abigail Rojansky, Viola  |  Jonathan Dormand, Cello

Saturday, September 28, 2024
2:00 p.m.
NC Museum of History Auditorium
5 E. Edenton St, Raleigh, NC 27601​


Nicholas Kitchen, violin |  Kristopher Tong, Violin  

Melissa  Reardon, Viola  |  Yeesun Kim, Cello

      Each visionary performance of the award-winning Borromeo String Quartet strengthens and deepens its reputation as one of the most important ensembles of our time. Admired and sought after for both its fresh interpretations of the classical music canon and its championing of works by 20th and 21st century composers, the ensemble has been hailed for its “edge-of-the- seat performances,” by the Boston Globe, which called it “simply the best.”

  • Enescu’s Octet for Strings, Op. 7
  • Shostakovich’s Two Pieces for String Octet, Op. 11
  •  Mendelssohn’s Octet for Strings, Op. 20.  



Only subscriptions are ON SALE NOW. Individual concert sales open June 26.



    Inspiring audiences for more than 25 years, the Borromeo continues to be a pioneer in its use of technology, and has the trailblazing distinction of being the first string quartet to utilize laptop computers on the concert stage. Reading music
this way helps push artistic boundaries, allowing the
artists to perform solely from 4-part scores and
composers’ manuscripts, a revealing and metamorphic
​experience which these dedicated musicians now teach to students around the world. As the New York Times noted, “The digital tide washing over society is lapping at the shores of classical music. The Borromeo players have embraced it in their daily musical lives like no other major chamber music group.” Moreover, the Quartet often leads discussions enhanced by projections of handwritten manuscripts, investigating with the audience the creative process of the composer.  

"The Borromeo's playing was restless and insistent, from the piece's edgy opening to the coda, played with a thrilling sense of abandon."

         The first concert of CMR's 83rd Season explores three masterpieces of the string octet repertoire with two award-winning quartets: Verona Quartet and Borromeo Quartet will perform Enescu’s Octet for Strings, Op. 7; Shostakovich’s Two Pieces for String Octet, Op. 11; and Mendelssohn’s Octet for Strings, Op. 20.    

​     Acclaimed as an “outstanding ensemble…cohesive yet full of temperament” (The New York Times), the Verona Quartet has firmly established itself amongst the most distinguished ensembles on the chamber music scene today. The group’s singular sense of purpose earned them Chamber Music America’s 

coveted 2020 Cleveland Quartet Award, and a reputation for its “bold interpretive strength, robust characterization and commanding resonance” (Calgary Herald). The Quartet serves on the faculty of the Oberlin College and Conservatory as the Quartet-in-Residence. In addition to its position at Oberlin, the Quartet recently held residencies at Nova Scotia’s Lunenburg Academy of Music Performance, Durham’s Chamber Orchestra of the Triangle and the ENCORE Chamber Music Institute.